Academics > Academic Divisions & Departments > Communication > Speech Competition

Speech Competition

A total of 83 students participated in this year's speech competition. The winners are:

*Best Speaker: Nina Russo, "Technology and Sleep"
*Best Speaker, Runner-Up: Fatima Semenova, "Elderly Abuse"
*Best Speaker, Third Place: Theodore Berlingeri, "The Importance of Compassion"
*Best Speaker, Fourth Place: Kesner LaGuerre, "The Power of Decisions"  
*Best Speaker, Fifth Place: Kayla Lafi, "Celiac Disease"
*Best Speaker, Sixth Place: Theresa Depken, "the Hidden Side of Teenage Relationships"

The Foundation sponsored tuition awards totaling $3,000 for the top six speakers.

In addition, four honorable mention winners were named: Allan Chapman, Emily Freirich, Andrew Kranich and Natasha Pineiros. Five speakers won special merit awards: Jailisse Acosta, William Artiga, Reena Ezra, Dakota Librescu and Rebecca Silverman.


Awards Ceremony for All Speakers:
Thursday, April 23, 2015; Main Building, 4:45 to 5:30 p.m.

All currently enrolled students are invited to present a six-minute informative or persuasive speech. Students are encouraged to discuss contemporary issues of significance.  The deadline to enter is Friday, April 10th.  To register you need to fill out and sign the online Student Registration Form and the Public Relations Release Form.  Or you can pick up the forms at the Communication Department Office, A-328A.  Both forms have to be on file in order to compete.   

For additional information, please email Jane Phelps, director of the competition, at [email protected].